Homepage » Beginner’s Guide for Valorant Console – Basics and Rules Guide

Beginner’s Guide for Valorant Console – Basics and Rules Guide

Valorant is finally live on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S. The interface and tutorials are significantly better than what the PC version currently offers. Since this is the first time on consoles, many players might not have played Valorant before. For them, the initial tutorial experience might feel a bit overwhelming. In this guide, we’ll make that transition as smooth as possible and help you with the basics of how to play Valorant on console. We’ll cover the basic rules of the game and the mechanics in the simplest terms possible.

Bomb Defusal – Rules

The core mode of Valorant is the bomb defusal mode. During a match, two teams of 5 players face each other in multiple rounds. The first team to win 13 rounds is crowned the champion of the match. The game is split into two halves, and in each half, one team will defend while the other attacks. While attacking, the team must enter a site and plant the spike in a specific area of the map called the “Bomb Site.” Most maps have two bomb sites, A and B. There are two maps that have three bomb sites, A, B, and C, which makes the game even more interesting at times. Once the team plants the bomb, they must defend the bomb site.

Once planted, the attackers must ensure the bomb is not defused to win the round. This means the attackers have to hold the site for 45 seconds, preventing the defenders from defusing the bomb. This situation is called a post-plant situation. As an attacker, when you hear the defenders attempting to defuse, you must ensure they stop by either eliminating them or constantly firing at the spike.

How to Practice Agents Before Your First Valorant Match on Console

Unlike the PC version, Valorant on console offers better options for practice. The traditional practice range and spike plant/defusal practice modes are available from the start. Apart from these two options, players can play swiftplay matches against AI bots to master agents and get familiar with various maps. Playing matches against AI opponents is still not available on PC and is currently exclusive to Valorant on console.

Do not skip this mode if you are new to the game. Understanding what an agent is supposed to do is crucial in Valorant. Every agent has abilities tied to their role. Duelists, initiators, controllers, and sentinels are the four types of roles in Valorant. It will take a couple of days to get the hang of what each role is meant to do. Controllers, specifically, are considered the toughest role to learn as it requires map knowledge. Learning one agent from every role is crucial.

Even while unlocking agents, players should make sure they unlock agents from every role and not just focus on one role. Many beginners tend to play only duelists and end up filling other roles with agents they aren’t familiar with. This has to be avoided at all costs. Hence, players should ensure they are ready to play an agent by trying and testing that agent in practice modes.

Have your say!

0 0

Leave a Reply

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Skip to toolbar